Monday , June 21 2021
Home / News / Akufo-Addo nominates Ministers, Deputies for newly created regions

Akufo-Addo nominates Ministers, Deputies for newly created regions

President Nana Akufo-Addo has nominated some persons to occupy various ministerial and deputy ministerial positions in the newly created regions.

This comes weeks after the president presented the official Constitutional Instrument for the creation of the Western North, Oti, Ahafo, Bono East, Savannah and North East regions.

Western Regional Minister Dr. Kwaku Afriyie has been dropped and replaced with Deputy Aviation Minister, Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah.

Municipal Chief Executive  (MCE)  for Sunyani, Evelyn Richardson has been named Minister for the Bono Region.

Member of Parliament for Atebubu, Kofi Amoakohene has been nominated  Minister for the Bono East Region while Kwasi Owusu Yeboah is Minister for the Oti Region.

The rest are Deputy Minister for Health, Kingsley Aboagye-Gyedu who has been named Western North Regional Minister as well as Salaga South MP, Salifu Braimah who has been nominated as Minister for the Savannah Region.

The North East Region has Deputy Northern Regional Minister, Solomon Boar as its Minister.
These Regional and Deputy Regional Ministers designate are however subject to parliamentary approval.

“Following the creation of six (6) new administrative regions in the country, and in accordance with article 256 (1) and (2) of the Constitution of the Republic, I wish to inform you that I have nominated the following persons to be appointed as Regional Ministers and Deputy Ministers of the new regions, subject to the approval of Parliament,” a statement from the Presidency to Parliament stated.

Deputy Ministerial roles

Hon. Siaka Stevens, MP                           -Deputy Minister, Bono Region
Hon Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere, MP      -Deputy Minister, Ahafo Region
Mr. Samuel Yeyu Tika                               -Deputy Minister, Savannah Region
Mr. Tahiru Tia Ahmed                               -Deputy Minister, North East Region
Hon. John Benam                                      -Deputy Minister, Northern Region
Hon. Alex Tetteh, MP                               – Deputy Minister, Western North Region
Mr. Johnson Avuletey                               -Deputy Minister, Volta Region

Nana Addo has however asked the house to expedite actions to approve the nominees.

“It is my hope that parliamentary approval of the above-named Regional Ministers and Deputy Regional Ministers-designate can be done quickly, so that they can take offices promptly, and ensure the establishment and development of these new regions.”


About Ebla Radio

Ebla Radio is your number one online radio to give you the best of content in news, lifestyle, entertainment, health, food and nutrition.

Check Also

President Akufo-Addo Attends Sierra Leone’s 6Oth Independence Celebration

The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, left Ghana on Monday, 26th April …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: